Character Interview: Marcus

The beloved's biteSlightly Unsettled Author (SUA) : Hello everyone and thank you for coming to this interview session. I’ll be talking to Marcus, whom some of you might recall from The Beloved’s Bite and The Beloved’s Legacy.

Marcus: And The Beloved’s Endgame (slight sinister edge to his tone) I can’t wait to see how that one turns out. I mean after all I’ve been through I really should get what I want.

SUA: Right. So for those of you who don’t know, Marcus is a vampire. What’s that like Marcus?

Marcus: Invigorating. And there are some other nice perks.

SUA: Perks?

Marcus: Immortality. Immunity to illness. The ability to make another trust you even when they probably shouldn’t. Beloved’s.

The beloved's LegacySUA:  Yes, that does sound like a nice package. But your life hasn’t always been easy. Do you want to tell us a little about your past?

Marcus: I’d rather talk about my current troubles if you don’t mind. I have a proposition for you that I think may suit us both very well.

SUA: What kind of a proposition?

Marcus: Wordsmiths are notoriously ill paid in a society that doesn’t value their work.

SUA: You didn’t have to tell me that.

Marcus: I am rather wealthy. I was wondering if we couldn’t come to some kind of a mutually beneficial arrangement.

SUA: Mutually beneficial arrangement. You mean you want to bribe me?

Marcus: Not bribe. It’s more like a retainer. I’ll give you a modest down payment now as a show of good faith. Then when you’ve written our happily ever after, when all of the competition is gone, you’d get the rest.

SUA: Not so confident in yourself this time around?

Marcus: You put me up against the ki…

SUA: Marcus!  I don’t really know if I want you giving away any spoilers. The fan’s hate that. They like to….

Marcus: If they didn’t read that’s their fault. I have a question for you, and I want your full attention when I ask it (bear’s fangs). Can you give me that?

SUA: (nods yes)

Marcus: Good. I want to know why I keep getting screwed over? Why can’t I just ever be happy with Lilly? Why do you hate me so?

SUA: (quietly) That was three questions.

Marcus: …………………

SUA: Um. Yeah, so. You just getting to meet and live happily ever after isn’t a good story. No one wants to read that.

The beloved's endgameMarcus: It’s my life!

SUA: It’s a story too. And what makes you think that you deserve to live happily ever after? You’re not exactly a nice guy. Lilly deserves better. She had better and you killed him. Twice. I gave you a perfectly good chance…

Marcus: (cutting author off) To lose her. To have to share for all eternity. That’s hardly a chance. (Fang’s now protruding fully, Marcus is hunched in an aggressive posture) When she lost her memory I was so happy that we had a fresh start and you went and messed it up!

SUA: A chance to prove to her that you’d changed. And you didn’t. You did exactly the same thing again. She needed her memory to be complete and your lying to her wasn’t helping anything.

Marcus: (quietly) I did what I had to.

SUA: Don’t sound too sure about that right now. I bet you’re starting to wonder if you can really make her happy. Can you be what she needs?

Marcus: And the new guy, you think his maj…

SUA: (cutting off) No spoilers, no names no titles.

Marcus: (sadly) You think he’s better for her?

SUA: I don’t know yet. There’s a lot left to come. Hunters and werewolves to deal with. He puts her into the line of fire pretty much automatically. Honestly, you both still have a chance right now.

Marcus: I do? I’ll get rid of him and we’ll have a chance to start over.

SUA: You really can’t be taught. This interview is over. You’re on your own.

Leave a Reply

